This insightful animation from Moondog Animation Studios is a part of the Willy Grunch series. Willy Grunch “is a carefree philosophizing poet happily stumbling through life… He’s not so different than everybody else, but we get to laugh at our own misery at his expense,” and the artists behind this series hope to reach the hearts and minds of youth with a message.

This episode, titled “Star System”, demonstrates just how easy it is to get sucked into the values of the world and leave our own behind. It begins with a girl simply looking through a celebrity magazine. Like most of us, she desires the fame, beauty, and wealth of the stars featured in the pages.

Take a moment to watch how quickly things begin to spin out of her control as she chases after her “dreams”.

“Star System”

Questions For Reflection

  1. Are your dreams really your dreams or do you desire what the world had told you is necessary for happiness?
  2. In what ways was the girl forced to change to fit the mold of a “star”? Why does our culture define beauty in this way?
  3. How was the girl left feeling in the end?
  4. Watch the video again and pay closer attention to Willy Grunch. How was he impacted by the changes in the girl? What do you think this animation is trying to communicate about sexual virtue?

What Is Sexual Virtue?

How do we rid ourselves of the impact that our society has had on our view of beauty, chastity, and modesty? How do we reclaim virtues that have been lost?

Join us for an online workshop with Cristina Barba of The Culture Project as she discusses these issues and more.

Don’t Miss “Sexual Virtue: And Why You Should Care in a World That Doesn’t” taking place oSaturday, October 7th 2017 (Los Angeles 12pm, New York 3pm, Rome 9pm, Manila 3am).

How to Participate In The Online Workshop?

If you would like to participate, simply make a small voluntary donation to Catholic-Link. Immediately afterward, you will receive detailed information explaining how to access the platform that will host our workshop. Any donation amount is acceptable! This money will go to covering the costs of our websites and to maintaining our evangelization projects such as the series: “A Minute with Pope Francis.” After registering, be on the lookout for other great offers from Catholic-Link and our partner organizations!

Free for Catholic-Link Benefactors!

Finally, remember that in addition to free coupons for Catholic businesses and monthly giveaways, Catholic-Link Benefactors receive FREE access to our monthly Online Conferences. If you would like to become a Catholic-Link Benefactor and support us with a recurring monthly donation, you may do so here.